Unlimited Presidential Reelection in Latin America

The progressive governments found a way to stay in power in order to carry on their revolutionary projects. In this regard, Venezuela paved the way. In 2009, the Chávez government carried through a constitutional referendum to permit unlimited presidential reelection.
The other radical progressive governments in Latin America, e.g. Nicaragua, Ecuador, and Bolivia followed the Venezuelan path. In 2009, the Nicaraguan judiciary declared the country’s reelection ban unconstitutional which ultimately allowed President Ortega to run again in 2011. In 2014, finally, the constitution was successfully changed to allow unlimited presidential reelection.
Something similar happened in Bolivia. After having lost a referendum in 2016 that would have permitted President Morales to run again in 2019, in December 2017, the highest court ruled in favor of unlimited reelection.
In Ecuador, a constitutional amendment was passed in 2015 that will remove presidential term limits from 2021 onwards. Critics claimed that President Correa would sit out one presidential term in order to run again in 2021. However, the new President Moreno launched a popular consultation to cancel the constitutional amendment in favor of unlimited reelection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *